A Small Reflection

Through the past few months I have been exploring a wide variety of web 2.0 tools on this blog, and looking at how they relate to libraries. Going into this project I was pretty clueless as to what technologies libraries were using but I have seen how libraries are working to stay modern and relevant. I am sure there are many things that I didn’t have time to look into, I would have like to spend more time on all the efficacy and scheduling tools. I feel like in the work force they are probably some of the most important ones but through this process I have learned a lot. I think I am a more tech savvy person because of it.

While I have discovered many new and interesting tools I think my favourite of everything I have looked at would still have to be podcasting. It is a tool I have used for academic and entertainment purposes for a long time. I think that podcasting works for me in a lot of ways because it is best suited for how I learn. I love the casualness that comes with podcasting, how you feel like you know the people you listen to every week. Podcasting is information delivered in a conversational and fun way.  Another reason why podcasting is so wonderful is that it is convenient, you have the freedom to work on other things while keeping the mind engaged.

The best part about web 2.0 tools is that they are tools that are all very practical for use in a library. It is not just head knowledge that I have gained but practical ways to improve the libraries that I end up working in.

 

Leave a comment